Empty Garden

The garden feels empty … and I feel strange each time I have to think about what to do with a left over cooked potato or a tough outer cabbage leaf. I’m having to be careful to cook only just enough spaghetti, rice, or frozen peas. It’s horrid.

So we’ve taken the decision in principle to restock, perhaps 4 – 6 hens, no more than we can restrict to the Hen Run. It’s frustrating that we don’t feel it would be safe for any more but that’s the way it is. Now that the fox has found us, we’ll never be safe from him again. I’m angry too: angry that the hens we lost had only recently refeathered, gained weight and started laying. They, and we, had so much to look forward to.

With four hens, there won’t be any eggs to sell – which isn’t about the money, it’s about the people who got to enjoy such lovely eggs and were always so grateful to have some.

It won’t be for a week or two, probably early March (if indeed we can locate some POL birds that early in the season). I’m leaving DH to source hens of his choice, while I work out how much we need to spend to further strengthen our defences. I will keep in touch via a post on this blog, but won’t continue this blog for a new brood. I’ll start over and leave a link here if you’d like to follow it. There are simply too many memories here – does that sound a bit melodramatic? That’s honestly how it feels just now.

Thank you for all your messages of love and support. It means a lot to us x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. jenni

     /  February 1, 2013

    I was so sorry to hear this Lynda. I felt almost guilty going out to feed mine. It is amazing how you get attached to hens, each having their own personality.
    Am home from hospital but all did not go well. Will update blog as soon as poss.
    Hope you get another brood of girls soon.
    God Bless, Jenni

    Reply
  2. Jenni, I’m really sorry to hear that. I’ll keep praying and will read when you can post. In the meanwhile, rest up as much as you need x

    Reply

Leave a comment