And still it rains …

It’s been wet for some time now and the ground is sodden. The last load of woodchip we had (from the local council) wasn’t very good and it’s long since rotted down, so the hens are on mud … and of course, that means their eggs are dirty. But the new grass seed is beginning to germinate, or at least the clover part of the mix! I’ve been looking at ways of safeguarding the grass once it grows and I have a few ideas but have yet to persuade DH that they are worth consideration. Using a mesh reinforcement should probably have been done before I sowed the most recent patch of grass, but I’m sure we can find a way to incorporate it at some stage.

Charity isn’t happy … a typical softie laying hen behaviour. Fine one moment, then miserable for a while before apparently recovering. I’m leaving her be for the moment. But am keeping a close eye.

We’re averaging 4 eggs a day … but the rain has seen to that for the moment. And I made flans yesterday and used almost a dozen eggs, so none to sell this week and the egg skelter looking rather empty.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment