Eating Eggs …

… is something the hens are not supposed to do. But we haven’t had an egg from Bridget for some time … and there is evidence of shell-less or thin shelled eggs having been in the nest box and the litter trays. In a sense, I don’t mind – at least they aren’t going to waste, but I really don’t want them to get into the habit of breaking into an egg to eat it (they haven’t, as yet … only thin shelled or broken eggs).

However, my main concern is that it probably means Bridget is still laying – how I wish she’d stop. Her shells are so thin now, it’s only a matter of time before one breaks inside her.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Aw, Bridget. My Daisy has a chronic thin-shell problem, so every day I take a few raisins, break them open, and press some crushed oyster shell into their sticky middles.. Then I stick them back together, and feed them to Daisy. She’s now laying good solid shells. It’s a bit of work, but it’s keeping her healthy.

    Reply
  2. Sadly, I think Bridget’s problem is chronic as nothing seems to make any difference. It’s her age, I expect – she’s an ex-batt and is nearly five years old, so it’s not surprising!

    Reply

Leave a comment