I spoke too soon …

… and we’ve had a softie these past two days …

The Aunties lay some really odd eggs. In particular, the wrinkled ones nearly always have very thin shells.  So the only eggs I feel are good enough to sell are those laid by the two Virtues … not quite enough to fulfil current demand. I had a ‘using up’ day this week, of all the odd eggs … savoury omelette for lunch and a Citron Soufflé omelette for pudding after tea,  which is a Delia recipe – needs more lemon next time, but a real treat! Then someone came and bought my last 6 eggs! So my egg-skelter is looking rather sad with just today’s offerings on it …

I suggested to DH that we get a couple more POL hens to resolve the problem of not having enough to sell. He quite right asked where we’d put them once the veg garden goes into pre-production in a week or so, so we settled on another pair/three in the Autumn … he wants more LS, while I rather fancy some kind of black hen, just for the colour contrast, you understand. Aesthetics are very important when it comes to gazing out of the window for hours on end.

Talking of which, I was so totally distracted for a while yesterday (and I wish I’d had a video camera  with me to share it with you). The Virtues were both on top of the ark, soaking up the evening sun (the garden is in shade from mid-afternoon). Charity was well settled, but Verity clearly wanted to get back to ground level, only she couldn’t work out how to get there. They get up on the ark by jumping first to the handrail and then to the roof, but don’t seem able to balance on the handrail on the way back down. She ended up pacing up and down for almost 5mins before eventually fluttering to earth … so funny to watch her almost decide to jump and then change her mind so many times. Once she was down, Charity realised she might have found some food, so she too decided to descend and seemed quite confident about getting down … for about a millisecond! So she too, then began to pace back and forth looking for the courage to take off. She almost fell several times, just managing to claw her way back. When she did take a leap of faith, she seemed unable to control her direction and landed underneath the dugout! 😀

I realised today that I only ever see the Light Sussex taking a nap … the ex-batts are always hungry, always looking for food, never a moment to stop. They must have been so desperate to feed in those horrid places they came from …

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Steves Mum

     /  January 18, 2010

    My son Steve ( home chickens.co.uk ) has three chooks and they are a brown, white and black one, the combination you are thinking of. They do look great. As he has been going for 18 months, his blog has slowed right down so I now get my daily fix of chicken news from you.

    Reply
  2. Nice to meet you, Steves Mum!

    I might have to make do with a brown hen with a black tail … depends on what my local breeders have available when the time comes!

    Reply

Leave a comment